Hills – I love them; hill reps I hate them

dsc_0004Normally I can’t wait to get out of the house and go running. But, on Tuesdays I have an extra cup of coffee, hang around, put on women’s clothing (sorry wrong sketch), tidy up, check Facebook, anything to put off getting out of the house. Eventually I do go and when I get out there it is usually okay.

Tuesdays are hill rep days and I hate hill reps. If you are not familiar with the term, hill reps are a training method where you run up a hill fast, jog back down then run up fast again and keep repeating until you have done enough. The usual minimum number is 6, but there are all sorts of variation, depending on what you are trying to achieve, the steepness of the hill, etc. The idea is that you can get more overall effort in by having the jogging rest in between than if you tried just running up one big hill. But those reps still hurt, particularly the last few. I’m on two sets of 6 reps with a two minute recovery in between. Next week it’s two sets of 8 – groan.

People do hill reps because it is one of the best ways to improve your performance, but why do I do them. I am not trying to win any races, nor am I trying to beat any of my personal bests. I do them because I love running on Dartmoor and other hilly places. If I can run up hills better then I’ll enjoy my long runs over the moors better and I can go further.

Also now I have another reason, I’m 62 and as you get older, which is unfortunately unavoidable (growing up isn’t), you start to slow down and lose muscle mass; hill reps are one way of slowing down that decline.

So (don’t tell the hill this) I love hill reps because they help me enjoy doing what I love. I still hate doing them 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

